Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption


The Italian Catholic Diocese of San Severo (Latin: Dioecesis Sancti Severi) is in Apulia. It is a suffragan of the Archdiocese of Foggia-Bovino.

The cathedral of San Severo, dedicated to the taking up (assumption) of the body of the Virgin Mary into heaven, was consecrated by Cardinal Vincenzo Maria Orsini, O.P., Archbishop of Manfredonia (Siponto). The church of S. Antonio was united to the cathedral, along with its hospice, at which travellers would be received for three nights’ sleeping accommodation; it also received the sick. The Prior of the hospice was elected annually by the cathedral Chapter.

The cathedral was administered by a Chapter, composed of three dignities (the Archdeacon, the Archpriest and the Primicerius) and twelve Canons.[14] One of the Canons was designated the Canon Penitentiarius and another the Canon Theologus, according to a decree of Bishop Malaspina.


Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption
Piazza Cattedrale, 71016 San Severo FG, Italy
+39 0882 222084