Charles University


Charles University, known also as Charles University in Prague or historically as the University of Prague, is the oldest and largest university in the Czech Republic.

It is one of the oldest universities in Europe in continuous operation. Today, the university consists of 17 faculties located in Prague, Hradec Králové and Pilsen. The Charles University belongs to top three universities in Central and Eastern Europe. It is ranked around 200-300 in the world.



Faculty of Arts (philosophy), Charles University in PragueFaculty of Law, Charles University in Prague

Among the four original faculties of Charles University were: the faculty of law, medicine, art (philosophy) and theology (now catholic theology). Today, Charles University consists of 17 faculties, based primarily in Prague, two houses in Hradec Králové and one in Plzeň.

Academic Institutes

  • Institute of the History of Charles University and Archive of Charles University
  • Center for Theoretical Study
  • Center for Economic Research and Graduate Education (CERGE-EI) together with Czech Academy of Sciences)
  • Environment Center

Other units

Joint research centres of Charles University and the Czech Academy of Sciences


Charles University
Ovocný trh 5 Prague 1 116 36
+420 224 491 850