Gyöngyöspata

Gyöngyöspata is a town in the Gyöngyös district of Heves county . It is one of the smallest cities in Hungary .

History 

This area was already inhabited before the Hungarians. Iron , Avar and Conquest tombs have also been excavated. At the time of the conquest, the area belonged to the Aba clan . A castle was built in the settlement in the 10th century (Pata Castle). According to Anonymus , ” vezér Then leader Árpád gave great land to Ed and Edemen in the forests of the Mátra , where their grandson, Pata, later built a castle.” Excavations revealed that the castleIt rose above Gyöngyöspata: our ancestors dug a 4-5 meter wide ditch at the edge of the plateau, and two meters from its inner side it was embedded in clay, approx. A stone wall with a circumference of 400 meters was laid. Logs held together by iron clips laid side by side were laid for this purpose. The wooden structure was trampled with clay, and in some places chimneys were also walled. The wood was set on fire, burning the embossed clay in the red blocks. This is how the 3-6 meter rampart was made.

Pata was related to the Grand Duke’s family. A new relationship was established between them when his later successor, Aba Sámuel , married the daughter of Prince Géza around 1010 . Samuel Aba was built next to the castle at the time, the Póctetőn 1010 in the main dean age church , the St. Peter ‘s Church, where 40 village church ruled his life.

1234 in II. King Andrew Sükkösd gave it to Demeter, a royal chief of food, who was the ancestor of the Nekcsey.

In 1299 Demeter’s grandchildren inherited the estate, Sándor’s son Demeter became the owner of Gyöngyöspata. In 1301 , most of the Abák lost their property: they allied with Máté Csák and Amadé Aba against Károly Róbert , whose fate sealed his fate in Rozgony . Nekcsey Demeter remained loyal to the king. Based on his education and university studies, he became the leader of young nobles and knights grouped around the royal court. In 1316 he was awarded the rank of steward , he managed the royal finances until 1338 . Associated with his name is the gold forint minted on the Florentine pattern introduction of creative monetary reform (the local primary school bears his name.)

Main sights

  • The Church of the Assumption, built in the 12th century and continuously expanded over time, is the main attraction of the settlement, as well as the Jesse wooden altar , which presents the family tree of Jesus , a unique treasure of art in Europe .
  • The monument-protected two- span baroque stone bridge built in the 18th century with a statue of St. John of Nepomuk on it ,
  • The Country House, which showcases memories of local folk art.
  • The destroyed remains of the Gyöngyöspata castle are located on the Castle Hill above the village.
  • The ruins of the church in Esperes 

Contact

Gyöngyöspata City Municipality
email
address
3035 Gyöngyöspata Fő utca 65.
phone
+36 37 364-111