Hněvín Castle is a far visible and characteristic landmark of the town of Most. It is a popular visitor place with a wide view of the region from the Ore Mountains to the Bohemian Central Mountains. In its premises there is accommodation and a stylish restaurant. The castle tower serves as a lookout tower, there is an observatory open to the public and an open theater stage.
Experience exhibition The workshop of Master Edward Kelley in the castle grounds is intended primarily for the youngest visitors to the castle, but their entourage will certainly not be bored. In the workshop, they can reveal the secrets of the most famous tricks with which the alchemist stunned the emperor himself. Court alchemist of Emperor Rudolf II. Edward Kelley has been imprisoned in Hněvín since 1596. A year later he died here after a failed escape from the castle dungeon. Legend has it that before his death he cursed Hněvín Castle and the town. It is an exaggeration to say that the curse was fulfilled when the old Bridge disappeared from the face of the earth due to coal mining.
Among the events held at the castle, Master Edward Kelley’s Day, held annually in June, has become very popular. Visitors can have fun with the performance of magicians and magicians, historical crafts are demonstrated and Most theater performers perform on the open stage.
Hněvín Castle and its history
Most Castle was built on Zámecká hora (Hněvín). Archaeological research has shown the remains of the walls in the 9th century, but the stone castle was probably built by the Hrabišic family, the owners of Most in the 12th century. The castle then changed owners for several centuries, until it was sold in 1595 by Rudolf II. of the city of Most. The Most family enjoyed a relatively quiet possession of the castle and its estates until the Thirty Years’ War. In 1646, the Swedes conquered it by deceit and imposed large fines and fees on Mostecká. For a year and a half, the imperial army besieged the castle, but it remained in the hands of the Swedes.
The blame for their misfortune was placed by the Most Castle, which always attracted the enemy due to its importance. Emperor Ferdinand III. therefore he allowed the demolition of the castle, demolition began in 1651. The castle mountain was abandoned, at the foot were vineyards and gardens.
At the end of the 19th century, a replica of it grew up on the site of the original castle, which from the beginning served as a restaurant and lookout tower. The castle acquired its current form in 1927 and at the turn of 2000 and 2001 it underwent an expensive reconstruction.