Technical University of Ostrava


The VSB – Technical University of Ostrava is a polytechnics  university located in the city of OstravaMoravian-Silesian Region in Czech Republic.

The institution was founded on 23 January 1849 as the Mining Academy in Příbram. In 1894, it was promoted to university status and in 1904, it was renamed to Vysoká škola báňská. In 1945, it was moved to Ostrava, then, the centre of Czechoslovak mining industry.

Today, the university has a total of about 20,000 students and consists of the following seven faculties:

  • Faculty of Economics (CzechEkonomická fakulta – EkF)
  • Faculty of Civil Engineering (CzechFakulta stavební – FAST)
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering (CzechFakulta strojní – FS)
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (CzechFakulta elektrotechniky a informatiky – FEI)
  • Faculty of Mining and Geology (CzechHornicko-geologická fakulta – HGF)
  • Faculty of Metallurgy and Material Engineering (CzechFakulta materiálově-technologická – FMT)
  • Faculty of Safety Engineering (CzechFakulta bezpečnostního inženýrství – FBI)


Technical University of Ostrava
17. listopadu 2172/15 708 00 Ostrava-Poruba
+420 597 325 278