University of Basilicata


The University of Basilicata is an Italian public research university located in Potenza, with a satellite campus in Matera. It was founded in 1982 and is organized in six faculties (two schools and four departments). It has also one school of specialization and five doctoral schools.


The university consists of two schools and four departments:

  • School of Engineering (ItalianScuola di Ingegneria)
  • School of Agricultural science, Forestry, Food and Environmental sciences (ItalianScuola di Scienze Agrarie, Forestali, Alimentari ed Ambientali)
  • Department of Humanities (ItalianDipartimento di Scienze Umane)
  • Department of European and Mediterranean Cultures (ItalianDipartimento delle Culture Europee e del Mediterraneo)
  • Department of Mathematics, Information Technology and Economics (ItalianDipartimento di Matematica, Informatica ed Economia)
  • Department of Natural sciences (ItalianDipartimento di Scienze)

Furthermore, the university has one school of specialization and five doctoral schools:

  • School of specialization in Archaeology (ItalianScuola di Specializzazione in Beni Archeologici)
  • Doctoral school in Applied Biology and Environmental Safeguard
  • Doctoral school in Cities and Landscapes: Architecture, Archaeology, Cultural Heritage, History and Resources
  • Doctoral school in Engineering for Innovation and Sustainable Development (ItalianIngegneria per l’Innovazione e lo Sviluppo Sostenibile)
  • Doctoral school in Agricultural, Forest and Food Sciences (ItalianScienze Agrarie, Forestali e degli Alimenti)
  • Doctoral school in History, Cultures and Knowledge of the Mediterranean Europe from the Antiquity to the Contemporary Age


University of Basilicata
Via Nazario Sauro 85 - 85100 Potenza
+39 0971 202011