University of Lorraine


The University of Lorraine (French: Université de Lorraine), often abbreviated in UL, is a grand établissement created on 1 January 2012 by the merger of Henri Poincaré, Nancy 2 and Paul Verlaine Universities, and the National Polytechnic Institute of Lorraine (INPL), etc… It aimed to unify the main colleges of the Lorraine region. The merger process started in 2009 with the creation of a “pôles de recherche et d’enseignement supérieur” or PRES.

The university is divided into two university centers, one in Nancy (biological sciences, health care, administration, computer science, and management) and one in Metz (material sciences, technology, and management). The University of Lorraine has over 60,000 students and offers 101 accredited research centers organized in 9 research areas and 8 doctoral colleges.

The University of Lorraine encompasses eight collegia or departments.

  • Arts, Literature, and Languages
  • Human and Social Sciences
  • Law, Economy, and Management
  • Sciences and Technologies
  • Health
  • Technology
  • Engineering Schools
  • Interface


University of Lorraine
Via contact form
34 Cours Léopold, 54000 Nancy, France
+33 3 72 74 00 00