University of Ostrava


The University of Ostrava is a public university in the city of Ostrava, Moravian-Silesian Region, Czech Republic. Founded in 1991, it is the newest public university in Ostrava. It consists of six faculties and two institutes providing university education.

Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine was established in 2010. Its history is closely connected with the Medical-Social Faculty of the University of Ostrava, which was founded in 1993. In 2008 the Medical-Social Faculty was divided into two faculties: the Faculty of Social Studies and the Faculty of Health Studies. The Faculty of Health Studies was renamed as the Medical Faculty on 1 September 2010.


University of Ostrava
Dvořákova 7, 701 03 Ostrava
+420 597 091 111