University of South Bohemia in České Budějovice

University of South Bohemia in České Budějovice is a public university located in the city of České Budějovice (with branch campuses in TáborVodňanyNové Hrady) in the Czech Republic. Established in 1991, it has over 13,000 students and an academic staff of 856. 573 students are currently enrolled in the university for their doctoral work.


The university consists of eight faculties, as follows:

Faculty of Arts: The faculty consists of 8 academic departments.

Faculty of Agriculture: Established in 1960 it is one of the oldest faculties in the South Bohemia region and one of the founding members of the University of South Bohemia. Currently, in this faculty, there are almost 2000 students studying their bachelor, master and doctoral programme.

Faculty of Economics: The Faculty of Economics consists of 8 departments. Its motto is “Effectively Together”.

Faculty of Education: This faculty consists of 15 academic departments which are attended by almost 2,200 students and it has 156 university teachers and 92 non-teaching employees.

Faculty of Fisheries and Protection of Waters: It is the most recently established faculty (estd. 2009) of the university and has 140 employers, 230 students and 50 doctoral candidates whereby more than half of the doctoral candidates are from abroad.

Faculty of Health and Social Studies: Initially, it started as a part of the Faculty of Education but starting the next academic year 1991/1992 it became a separate faculty. The faculty has total of 7 academic departments with an official motto of “We teach people to help.”

Faculty of Science: Established in 1991, the faculty is a successor of the Faculty of Biological Sciences (which was based on the Biology Centre of Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic) and houses 12 academic departments. Though it originally offered courses only in the area of biological disciplines, since 2007 (when it became Faculty of Science) several other fields of science (chemistry, physics, mathematics, informatics) are incorporated in this faculty as well.

Faculty of Theology The theological faculty emphasizes the Christian ethical and social values. Since its inception in 1991, the diocesan bishop of České Budějovice has been by statute the moderator of the faculty


University of South Bohemia in České Budějovice
Branišovská 1645/31a
+420 389 032 191