University of Szeged


The University of Szeged is a large research university in Hungary. It is located in Hungary’s third-largest city, Szeged, in Csongrád County in the Southern Great Plain.


Szeged University has 12 primary faculties:

  • Faculty of Agriculture – MGK
  • Faculty of Health Sciences and Social Studies – ETSZK
  • Faculty of Engineering – MK
  • Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences – BTK
  • Faculty of Economics and Business Administration – GTK
  • Faculty of Law and Political Sciences – ÁJTK
  • Faculty of Medicine – ÁOK
  • Faculty of Music – ZMK
  • Faculty of Pharmacy – GYTK
  • Faculty of Sciences and Informatics – TTIK
  • Juhász Gyula Faculty of Education – JGYPK
  • Faculty of Dentistry – FOK


There are 16 research groups supported by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences. Among other research areas: pharmaceutical chemistry, biotechnology & environmental technology. The University covers 700 research areas at 19 Doctoral Schools.

The Attila József Study and Information Centre (Hungarian: József Attila Tanulmányi és Információs Központ – JATIK) is located near Szeged’s city center and houses the university library, computer center, and lecture halls. The University plans to build another two faculties.


The University of Szeged has 21,000 university students, studying a total of 134 majors.

The SZTE, located in Szeged Hungary, offers 52 full-time degree programmes at Bachelor’s, Master’s and Doctoral level.


University of Szeged
6720 Szeged, Dugonics tér 13.
(+ 36-62) 544-000