University of Urbino


The University of Urbino “Carlo Bo” is an Italian university located in Urbino, a walled hill-town in the region of Marche, located in the north-eastern part of central Italy.

The university was founded as an academic institution in 1506, although it was not fully recognised as a university until 1671. In the 1920s it gained recognition as an “Independent University”, with a charter that made state aid possible although not mandatory.

Once fully recognized as an Independent University, student numbers gradually increased as more facilities were opened.



Until 2013 the university was divided into 11 faculties:

Following the approval of the so-called Gelmini reform in 2009, and starting from the 2013/2014 academic year, the faculty-based organisation was replaced by a department-based structure. It is currently composed of the following departments and institutes:

  • Department of Pure and Applied Sciences (DISPeA)
  • Department of Communication Sciences, Humanities and International Studies. Cultures, Languages, Literatures, Arts, Media (DISCUI)
  • Department of Economics, Society, Politics (DESP)
  • Department of Humanities (DISTUM)
  • Department of Law (DIGIUR)
  • Department of Biomolecular Sciences (DISB)
  • Superior Institute of Religious Sciences ‘Italo Mancini’ (ISSR)
  • Institute of Journalism (Ifg)


University of Urbino
Via Aurelio Saffi, 2 - 61029 Urbino PU - IT
Via Aurelio Saffi, 2 - 61029 Urbino PU - IT